Skip to content

Instilling a love of maths

May 28, 2017

About a week into our journey I decided to make up some subject cards so that within each given day Z could decide what subject he would like us to cover next. I thought this would both give him a greater sense of control and also give me an indication of what he is enjoying.  After doing this I quickly noticed that everyday he would chose to start with maths and it was becoming apparent that he was really enjoying it.  So I asked him one day, “Have you always enjoyed maths this much?”  He responded “No, only since we started homeschooling.”  These moments make it so much easier to keep going.  I hope his love of maths continues to grow.

 

corner_cards_01

Revision for 5,10,15 and 20 number facts using corner cards.  

4 Comments leave one →
  1. May 29, 2017 11:40 am

    That is such a rewarding sentence, mashaAllah. Hope your homeschooling bond continues to grow and that your son grows to be a lifelong learner 🙂 What are these cards and how do you use them? I’ve never seen them before!

    Liked by 1 person

    • May 29, 2017 12:18 pm

      JazakAllah kheir 🙂 The cards came with the curriculum i purchased (RightstartMath) I purchased all the manipulates with them, I’d never seen them before either. They basically have 4 colours on each side of the card, so it works by matching the colours together, even if they are upside-down, and they need to add up to certain numbers (in this case it was either 5, 10, 15 or 20). When I took the photo he was just playing by himself until the cards finished but in our next lesson we start scoring (the score is just whatever it adds up to in that turn, and then the next turn you add the next sum etc) and the first to 100 wins. Just a fun way of practicing.

      Liked by 1 person

      • May 29, 2017 12:44 pm

        That sounds like fun! I would play it myself, haha. I’m going to try to remember this for when my girls are older and can do addition like this in their heads. I would love to read a review of Rightstart after you’ve used it for awhile. We are starting with Singapore Math this September for kindergarten but I haven’t decided if we’ll stick with it long term or not. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • May 29, 2017 2:50 pm

        So far I’m loving it, I looked hard for a curriculum that was hands on and fun for my son as he really needs it, thats why we started homeschooling, he was so bored at school with the more ‘traditional’ approach and would start playing up. RightStart uses a lot of manipulatives and games and we both love it. It also forces me to play with him which I must confess I wasn’t doing so much before. Insha’Allah I’ll write a proper review of it soon.

        Like

Leave a Reply

